Classical Automobiles, Sussex England? [Archive] - El Camino Central Forum : Chevrolet El Camino Forums

: Classical Automobiles, Sussex England?


Havoc13
01-17-2004, 05:03 PM
I recieved an offer to purchase my 66 El Camino from a Kelvin Maxwell of Classical Cars in London. Has anyone heard of this company or any company in England that regularly purchases old cars and has them shipped over there?
Here is the way he wants the transaction to be. He sends me $5000, I then send the buyer $2000 back and someone will come pick up my car. Sounds a bit odd to me. Anybody had any experience with this?

Poltergeist
01-17-2004, 06:05 PM
This is the part that I have a problem with.

He sends me $5000, I then send the buyer $2000 back....

To me this sounds too much like many of the internet scams that are going on. I don't know how many times I've been contacted by email about people with my last name dying in another country and having millions. If this is on the up and up why don't they just send you $3000 and pick up the car? Why do you have to send 2k back?? I would be real skeptical of this. Unless you don't mind lossing $2000.00?

If so I have a bridge.....

87ElCamino
01-17-2004, 06:49 PM
...I then send the buyer $2000 back
Hey, I want to buy your El Camino too. I'll send you a rubber check for $10,000 and you send me back a good check for $7,000. I'll send my cousin Vinny Babaloo to pick the Elky up. Yeah, right.

Jeeze...use your common sense here. If it sounds too good to be true....

shane22
01-17-2004, 08:26 PM
:lol: :P Can you say SCAM ? Say it with me,SCAM.One more time,SCAM.
Save some time,just take 2 grand in cash and burn it,better yet send it to the" Shane go faster charity" cash only!!!
8) Shane

1968elCamino
01-17-2004, 09:45 PM
Nobody would do that would they? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

allanova
01-18-2004, 06:34 AM
I recieved an offer to purchase my 66 El Camino from a Kelvin Maxwell of Classical Cars in London. Has anyone heard of this company or any company in England that regularly purchases old cars and has them shipped over there?
Here is the way he wants the transaction to be. He sends me $5000, I then send the buyer $2000 back and someone will come pick up my car. Sounds a bit odd to me. Anybody had any experience with this?


Hey, If you have a Nice 66 for 3k. I would like to take a look. where are you located? can you post pics or do you have any pics on the web?
allanova

87SS
01-20-2004, 11:56 AM
Scam Alert! (http://www.chevelles.com/classifieds/scamalert.html)

87ElCamino
01-20-2004, 04:48 PM
Great link Peter. I wonder how many people have fallen for this type of scam?

Caveman49
01-20-2004, 08:50 PM
So do you really want to sell your ride? 8O

I saw an add in the local trader mag (thrify nickel) for a 67SS BB for 3500 in Birmingham AL. I'm going to pick up a new paper this Thursday to see if it's still there. Here's the number if anyone is interested (205) 520-5176. I'll follow up on it. :-D

ElkyPete
01-21-2004, 11:25 AM
Great link Peter. I wonder how many people have fallen for this type of scam?
I got an E-mail yesterday from someone "posing" as an attorney that wanted me to fill out some papers for an "Inheritance" that he said he knew wasn't mine but the family or Kin folk for this dead guy/girl what ever, was all passed away or some such nonsense. Anyway he wanted me to be a claimant for this "Fortune" before it was absorbed by whatever country this guy was from. I think it was England or some place like that.

If it sounds too damn good to be true then it is not true. If it was they would call and have you come to their office or in the case of the Elky they would have sent a representative to purchase the car with cash, the correct cash and get the title at the same time.

In my case I think they just wanted me to hand over my SSN and other vital data to steal my name or credit or something.

:lol: :lol: :lol: Little do they know I am not worth squat! So even if they did get that information most places would laugh their @sses off at them when they applied for some credit. :lol: :lol:

87SS
01-21-2004, 11:43 AM
I got an E-mail yesterday from someone "posing" as an attorney Hey Pete...he wasn't from So. Africa was he, if so I got the same one yesterday. 8O