th350 kickdown cable to carb. [Archive] - El Camino Central Forum : Chevrolet El Camino Forums

: th350 kickdown cable to carb.


tophes84elco
08-21-2010, 07:42 PM
Well I just got done taking my car for a test drive after rebuilding the trans and it shifts really good. The question is how or what is the best way to connect the kickdown cable to the carb? Right now I have what the previous owner had, just a screw with a nut holding it on and I know this is wrong cause it doesn't work. I was looking at a stud that mounts to the carb to replace it. The kickdown cable I have has the long piece of metal type with a channel cut in the center of it. Also when I look for the adjustment button where the cable mounts to the intake I don't see one.

darbysan
08-22-2010, 08:40 AM
What you are describing sounds like the Cruise Cable to me- not a kickdown cable. The kickdown cable has the adjuster as part of the cable, and the end snaps onto a ball fitting on the carb linkage. Are you still using the stock E4ME carb? Maybe a picture would help us understand your situation.

tophes84elco
08-22-2010, 11:02 AM
No it's the kickdown cable as I don't have cruise control. Heres some pics. I thought I could just get the stud that attaches to the carb but my linkage doesn't have the widened hole at the back to slip over the stud so I'm not sure what to do. It's a Holley 750 double pumper. http://i985.photobucket.com/albums/ae331/tophes84elco/Picture008.jpg

http://i985.photobucket.com/albums/ae331/tophes84elco/Picture005.jpg

http://i985.photobucket.com/albums/ae331/tophes84elco/Picture004.jpg

67ELK
08-22-2010, 01:23 PM
Well I believe ther are two parts you would need First this one: http://teamc.com/i-4554569-holley-performance-20-45-kickdown-cable-bracket.html.

Second this one: http://www.edelbrock.com/automotive_new/mc/install_items/general.shtml

tophes84elco
08-22-2010, 08:36 PM
I already have the bracket that mounts to the intake and that other link won't load so I have no clue what it is

steelybill
08-22-2010, 08:59 PM
The adjustment is on the cable housing, at the bracket on the intake. One way is to lift the segament in the housing where it's attached to the bracket, open the throttle all the way, (WOT) and then push the segament back down into position, which locks the housing.
Kind of difficult to describe, but get a good look at the housing where it snaps in the bracket, and you may get the idea....
The slotted end on the cable is correct, and the bolt in the carb arm will work if the slotted cable is free to move...
Take a pic of the housing where it's attached to the bracket...

tophes84elco
08-22-2010, 09:24 PM
Well I found the thing your talking about today that you lift up and push back down. I was looking at it at night and was too lazy to grab my light. The slotted end does move freely I just wanted to get the correct stud or whatever to hold it on there. Looks rigged up with the screw set up. But the slotted end doesn't have a wider part on it to slide it over a stud mount so I might just leave it and adjust it.

tophes84elco
08-23-2010, 02:26 PM
Well I tried to adjust it and it didn't work. Had to move the slotted end to the front side of where it mounts to the carb cause the linkage kept hitting the intake. What exactly does that little clip thing do? Is it supposed to make the cable shorter or something cause it doesn't seem to matter where you put the cable and push it back down, it always has full motion.

darbysan
08-23-2010, 02:37 PM
The adjustment is meant to provide full travel of the kickdown cable at wide open throttle. The typical method to adjust it is to set it tight, so you cannot get wide open throttle. Then, as you pull harder on the throttle to Wide Open, the adjuster in the kickdown cable clicks forward to allow a little more cable play. End result is that at wide open throttle, you have full travel of the kickdown cable, but with no slack in the kickdown cable at that point.

steelybill
08-23-2010, 06:58 PM
YUP!:smileyb: