El Camino Central Forum banner

1966 454 Overbore--MPG estimates?

5K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  elka 
#1 ·
Hey all! Newbie here from Central Iowa. I'm looking at picking up a 1966 El Camino (restored and ready to rumble). My only hesitation is that I want to drive it often, and am concerned with gas mileage. The car was rebuilt with a 454 overbored to 460, and I'm curious if anyone has a similar vehicle/engine combo, and what sorts of mileage it gets. I know it's going to be FAR from phenomenal, but hey... the info would still be good to have! Thanks, and I look forward to learning lots from this forum!

#4 ·
All depends on how it's set up. You might get as much as 14-15 out of a stock 454 with a Rochester, 3.08 gears and a light foot. I got 12 on the highway out of a healthy 427 with 3.55s. My current 454 gets about 6 mpg.

Devin

#6 ·
Great replies! Good info. The thing that sucks about me buying a Camino is I want something I can rip rubber with, but I also want to be able to use it as a daily driver--kind of a forbidden combo. Unfortunately, this car is in near mint shape, and for a tiny amount of money (given the condition). Like you all said, I'm probably just going to suck it up and have to live with the 454 (such a sacrifice ;))... Ahhh...

#7 ·
Seriously, the th700r4 can be built (reasonably) to live behind the 454 and give you great performance and the overdive can get decent fuel economy---its never going to be an miser but it can be respectable.......................Dan

#8 ·
If you have the money and the patience to do the install, you could go with a t-56 6 speed manual out of a camaro, firebird or corvette, which will give you the overdrive and plenty of tire spinning. It would probably be cheaper then an auxilliary overdrive from gear vendors, but might be harder to find in your price range

#10 ·