A/C Question... - El Camino Central Forum : Chevrolet El Camino Forums
El Camino Central Forum : Chevrolet El Camino Forums
 
Ground Up
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2017, 04:44 PM
Zerberfert's Avatar
Zerberfert Zerberfert is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Name: Skip
Location: Coldspring, TX
Year: 1986
Model: El Camino
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 16779
Posts: 1,254
Zerberfert will become famous soon enough
Garage
Default A/C Question...

If needed, here is a little background about my build: http://www.elcaminocentral.com/showthread.php?t=192457

I am about to hook up my A/C soon and I have a few questions. Here is a picture of the power connector for the old A/C compressor.

Are both of those green wires power wires, or is one of them a ground?

Do I need to put the diode in the new connector for the new compressor?




The connectors are different, but I have a new pigtail, so no problems there.



No problem on tell where the power wire goes.



Depending on the answers, I am sure I have more questions.
__________________
Work smarter, not harder.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-10-2017, 05:18 PM
JJLT1's Avatar
JJLT1 JJLT1 is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Name: JJ
Location: South of Houston
Year: 1985
Model: El Camino SS
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 12122
Posts: 9,751
JJLT1 has a reputation beyond reputeJJLT1 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Default

does yours have the ac relay like the 87?? I think??

one is power and one is a ground
the green one from the cycle switch should be the +pos..
.
.
I believe the diode/resistor thang does serve a purpose, it keeps the switch contacts in better shape..
something about a back surge, or emp, or a nuculer somethin or other,
when the magnetic field collapses in the clutch..

__________________
JJ
85-SS 95-LT1-383 4L60 8.5-3.73
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-10-2017, 06:33 PM
Zerberfert's Avatar
Zerberfert Zerberfert is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Name: Skip
Location: Coldspring, TX
Year: 1986
Model: El Camino
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 16779
Posts: 1,254
Zerberfert will become famous soon enough
Garage
Default

Not sure if an 86 had a relay or not. I don't remember seeing one and thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-2017, 07:48 PM
sandblaster's Avatar
sandblaster sandblaster is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Jackson NJ
Year: 1985
Model: Conquista
Region: 3 (DE,NJ,PA)
NECOA #: 727
Posts: 2,031
sandblaster has a spectacular aura about
Garage
Default

Some reading info on the Diode HERE :http://www.freeasestudyguides.com/ac...coil-test.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-11-2017, 08:35 PM
JJLT1's Avatar
JJLT1 JJLT1 is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Name: JJ
Location: South of Houston
Year: 1985
Model: El Camino SS
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 12122
Posts: 9,751
JJLT1 has a reputation beyond reputeJJLT1 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Default


its coming back to me now
you can get the relays with the diode built in now days too...

as said in the reading, the new clutch coils may have a diode built in, maybe that's why is says which is + and - ..
check it both ways thru thru the coil with a ohm meter..

x2 spiking the ecm is bad news..

but those test are fun..

Last edited by JJLT1; 01-11-2017 at 08:46 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-12-2017, 04:31 PM
Zerberfert's Avatar
Zerberfert Zerberfert is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Name: Skip
Location: Coldspring, TX
Year: 1986
Model: El Camino
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 16779
Posts: 1,254
Zerberfert will become famous soon enough
Garage
Default

I think I am getting this figured out. Please check the video.
https://youtu.be/Tws4sVURmFI

I think there is a diode in the compressor coils already. If this is true, can I assume that I will not have to add a 2nd diode on the pigtail connector?

I also show what I think is the A/C relay. Can they be pick up at a local auto parts?

The coil had 3.5 ohms which that link said was good.

I hope to hook everything up and have A/C this weekend. It getting to the low 80's in this part of Texas, which is ridiculous.

Thanks for all the info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-12-2017, 05:40 PM
JJLT1's Avatar
JJLT1 JJLT1 is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Name: JJ
Location: South of Houston
Year: 1985
Model: El Camino SS
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 12122
Posts: 9,751
JJLT1 has a reputation beyond reputeJJLT1 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Default

Quote:
This video is unavailable.
Sorry about that.
i aint no lec-trick-shen, but i assume??
if you can not get a ohm reading both ways thru the coil?? then it has a diode..
and i would not think you need 2 diodes?? don't know??

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-12-2017, 06:41 PM
Zerberfert's Avatar
Zerberfert Zerberfert is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Name: Skip
Location: Coldspring, TX
Year: 1986
Model: El Camino
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 16779
Posts: 1,254
Zerberfert will become famous soon enough
Garage
Default

Video should be viewable now.

Didn't think about checking the ohms both ways...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-12-2017, 06:58 PM
JJLT1's Avatar
JJLT1 JJLT1 is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Name: JJ
Location: South of Houston
Year: 1985
Model: El Camino SS
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 12122
Posts: 9,751
JJLT1 has a reputation beyond reputeJJLT1 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Default

fancy meter too..

if that relay gets a hot signal with the ac switch on?? then maybe??

i have not traced out the one with the power steering switching the ac..

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-12-2017, 07:09 PM
Zerberfert's Avatar
Zerberfert Zerberfert is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Name: Skip
Location: Coldspring, TX
Year: 1986
Model: El Camino
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 16779
Posts: 1,254
Zerberfert will become famous soon enough
Garage
Default

I removed the power steering switch and just connected those wire together. Hope that's not a problem.

Also, when I reversed the leads on the compressor, no beep to say it's a diode. I was not paying attention to the numbers. If I remember how my multimeter works, the beep is enough to tell you without looking at the numbers.

I need to do some wiring before I will know if I get power to what I think is the A/C relay. I looked on rockauto and didn't see any. Need to look on the internet somemore.

Thanks again,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11  
Old 01-12-2017, 07:29 PM
JJLT1's Avatar
JJLT1 JJLT1 is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Name: JJ
Location: South of Houston
Year: 1985
Model: El Camino SS
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 12122
Posts: 9,751
JJLT1 has a reputation beyond reputeJJLT1 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Default

these are 87 diagrams, caprice with a relay,, and Elky w/o the relay..

I should have said, I have not traced out the 1 with a relay...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ac87relay.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	652.6 KB
ID:	70466   Click image for larger version

Name:	ac87.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	648.0 KB
ID:	70474  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12  
Old 01-12-2017, 07:34 PM
Zerberfert's Avatar
Zerberfert Zerberfert is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Name: Skip
Location: Coldspring, TX
Year: 1986
Model: El Camino
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 16779
Posts: 1,254
Zerberfert will become famous soon enough
Garage
Default

Looking at the first picture, in the middle of the picture it shows the ECM. Do you have to have the computer for the A/C to work?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13  
Old 01-12-2017, 07:37 PM
JJLT1's Avatar
JJLT1 JJLT1 is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Name: JJ
Location: South of Houston
Year: 1985
Model: El Camino SS
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 12122
Posts: 9,751
JJLT1 has a reputation beyond reputeJJLT1 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Default

I don't know Skip..

looks like if you don't have the ecm anymore, you don't need the relay..
there is nothing to close the relay..
if that's what the relay is for???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14  
Old 01-12-2017, 07:44 PM
Zerberfert's Avatar
Zerberfert Zerberfert is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Name: Skip
Location: Coldspring, TX
Year: 1986
Model: El Camino
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 16779
Posts: 1,254
Zerberfert will become famous soon enough
Garage
Default

Then would the A/C even work? Getting nervous again.

I think I understand the 2nd picture pretty well. The Mode Selection Switch goes to the Pressure Cycling Switch which I think is on the Dryer. Then from there the power steering switch which I removed. Then to the compressor. That should get the power to the compressor I hope.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15  
Old 01-12-2017, 07:53 PM
Zerberfert's Avatar
Zerberfert Zerberfert is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Name: Skip
Location: Coldspring, TX
Year: 1986
Model: El Camino
Region: 13(TX)
NECOA #: 16779
Posts: 1,254
Zerberfert will become famous soon enough
Garage
Default

JJLT1, could you verify the first picture is for Vin Y vehicles. Mine is a Vin G, so don't think that pic is for my Elky. That would be good news.

Thanks for all the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Smilies
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the El Camino Central Forum : Chevrolet El Camino Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Postal Code
Required
Street Address
Complete, verifiable Street or other address required (Hidden)
City
Your city or town
State or Province
Required
Location area within State
Which selection best describes the area of the State that you live in.
Country
Required
NECOA Region
Required
Year of Vehicle
Required
Make of Vehicle
Required
Model of Vehicle
Required
Real Name
Required. Your real name to be shown in your posts and profile.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gen. Question / Alternator Question OLD GEEZER RICHARD Region 13 (TX) 3 01-14-2013 08:15 PM
question ? related to the what is this wire question harpman1 Electrical Systems 7 08-17-2012 06:59 PM

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners. Comments are property of their posters, the rest 2001-2009 by me


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.