TH350 will not shift into 2nd - El Camino Central Forum : Chevrolet El Camino Forums
El Camino Central Forum : Chevrolet El Camino Forums
 
Ground Up
Notices

User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2005, 03:46 PM
brerfox brerfox is offline
Member

Twisted Wrench
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Granada Hills, CA
NECOA #: 4942
Posts: 48
brerfox will become famous soon enough
Default TH350 will not shift into 2nd

Ok so the problem is my transmission will not shift into second gear. So someone suggested to change the vaccum modulator. It still wouldn't shift into second gear then I posted my problem in the engine section of the forums and I was told to check the "Kickdown cable". When I found the cable I saw that it was pulled all the way forward. I wiggled it back into place then pushed the throttle to wide open and i watched it pull the cable out again and when I let go it stayed there and didn't go back to its normal position. I've looked but I still can't figure out why its getting stuck and if this even has anything to do with my shifting problem. Please if you have any advise of what to look for or what to check let me know. I took it to a tranny repair place and the guy said something about the governor being possibly being stuck (he wasn't even sure) but they couldnt do anything without "opening the transmission" which he then quoted me $300 to open it and then up to $900 to replace parts inside. This seemed to me like a rip off so i left and im tight on money anyways so any advise would help.
__________________
1979 El Camino Conquista
----305-----
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-2005, 06:45 PM
Papasetti Papasetti is offline
Junior Member
Twisted Wrench
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: miami,fl
NECOA #: 5447
Posts: 22
Papasetti will become famous soon enough
Default shift

It may seem simple but ck the vacume line is secure at the source.
__________________
1984 Choo Choo custom.
1991 Harley FXRS
2000 Honda odyssey
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2005, 08:08 PM
brerfox brerfox is offline
Member

Twisted Wrench
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Granada Hills, CA
NECOA #: 4942
Posts: 48
brerfox will become famous soon enough
Default

Well so far with my elky all its major problems have turned out to be simple things so i wouldn't be surprised. My only question is where on the vacuum line? I checked it where it meets the modulator when I first had the problem and it was off a little but I fixed it and put on a small clamp to hold it. Is there somewhere else I should be looking?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2005, 09:33 PM
spoonplugger spoonplugger is offline
Senior Member
Master Wrench
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: 7(AL,GA,TN)
Year: 1986
Model: Caballero
Region: 7 (AL,GA,TN)
NECOA #: 1271
Posts: 1,113
spoonplugger will become famous soon enough
Default

Make sure the vacuum line does not have any holes (leaks) and check the other end of the hose for a snug fit on the fitting. Mine attaches to a port coming directly off the intake manifold, but yours may be connected somewhere else.
__________________
86 caballero, 350 cid, TH350C
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2005, 02:48 PM
brerfox brerfox is offline
Member

Twisted Wrench
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Granada Hills, CA
NECOA #: 4942
Posts: 48
brerfox will become famous soon enough
Default

Doesn't seem to be any problem with the vacuum. One thing I've been told that makes some sense is the governor. I heard that the governor gear can strip and then the tranny will not shift only problem is im really not too sure what to look for or how to get to the governor. Also is it possible to replace the governor?? Ive only seen kits to change shift points using springs and weights but not to replace it entirely
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:58 PM
brerfox brerfox is offline
Member

Twisted Wrench
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Granada Hills, CA
NECOA #: 4942
Posts: 48
brerfox will become famous soon enough
Default

OK so i've found out where the governor is but its behind a kind of circular cap. Is there anyone out there that can at least tell me how to remove the cap so i can get to the governor???
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
th350 shift kit question tampaelcamino Transmission & Drive line 0 05-30-2005 09:49 PM
Shift Points(TH350 automatic) Snaggle To0th Transmission & Drive line 27 04-20-2005 12:48 PM
TH350 will not shift into third *fixed, thanks guys* kraZy9987 Transmission & Drive line 4 03-01-2005 09:09 PM
what about : B&M shift imp. / transpack kit for TH350 PH75elky Transmission & Drive line 9 04-07-2004 12:34 PM
Converting Column shift to console shift. 67bomber Interior Restoration 0 07-16-2003 11:51 PM

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owners. Comments are property of their posters, the rest 2001-2009 by me



Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.