El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1985, Chevrolet El Camino 4.3L
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning everyone,

I tried to search through the forum for similar issues already but I couldn't find what I'm looking for.

Let me start off by saying that I am no expert on cars in any way shape or form, and learn as I go. Ever since I was a kid my grandad had this 85 El Camino, he would drive me around all over. I have such fond memories of this truck it quickly became my favorite truck above all others. 1996 was the last year that he drove it before he parked it. It sat in the same place for 24 years, I would often tell him how much I loved this truck and thought it was so cool. To my surprise this time last year he gave it to me, I spent the past year getting it all fixed up and road worthy! Best Truck in the world.

A month ago I decided I wanted to change the gauges in the Camino from the stock gauges to a digital dakota gauge system. Did some research, found the electrical diagnosis manual. I decided that I could handle this project. I started to remove the dash and the gauges, got the display mounted into the bezel and found a nice spot for the digital dakota computer. Then I get to cutting the wires from the 18 pin connecter to extend to the computer and I realized. There are more warning lights than ports on the computer. How do I handle installing the included sensors when there are already sensors in the engine (Water temp, and oil pressure) and only one sending wire currently being sent to the dash. I instantly feel overwhelmed and stuck.

Please if there is anyone out there that can help me I would greatly appreciate it.

My questions are as followed.

What am I to do with the extra warning light wires that are not supported by the digital dakota computer?
such as the Alternator charge light, seat belt warning light, choke light. Can I just cap them off and push them back in the dash for now?