El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the start of a rebuild. I bought a 1986 Elky without an engine or trans. I am putting a 383 in her. I want to clean up the wiring in the engine bay. Did the car have any type of computer before? What all wires can I remove?

·
Registered
929 Posts
First off, welcome from another 86' SS owner :beer: Yes, there was a type of computer system that controlled the computer controlled carb and distributor, and the lockup function of the transmission. The computer is in the passengers side kick panel. I would get a wiring diagram to see what all the wires do, although you will probably end up ripping them all out.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the welcome and the info. This is my first projects of this type. I have always wanted an El Camino and ran across this one. I hope I can do it. :???:

·
Premium Member
846 Posts
Agree with the removal of the computer harness. Access the rf kick panel, remove the ECM, and follow the harness thru the firewall. Shouldn't be difficult with an empty engine bay

·
Registered
2,102 Posts
if you dont have to deal with emission testing you dont need the computer to make it run,all of the wires needed to make it run come from the driverside below the wiper motor. the computer and heater/ac wires and vacuum come from the pass side. removeing the inner fenders makes it easy to get to the wireing if it has been cut

·
Deputy Director Region 6
8,780 Posts
Welcome from Florida !! :florida: It will be easier to remove the wiring with the inner fenders removed !!

·
ZERO MPG
15,367 Posts

·
Premium Member
846 Posts
maliburacing.com has lots of wiring diag's...

·
Registered
5 Posts
along with the
haynes book you might check out the Chevy Electrical Diagnosis Service Manual Supplement. Between the 2 books I was able to eliminate my PCM in my '82.

·
Registered
132 Posts