El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
So disclaimer I'm a big amateur when it comes to being a mechanic so I will try my best to answer any questions you may have to help me figure this thing out. I've got my self a 1986 with a 305, everything on the engine was stock, 163,514 miles on it. (will put a synopsis at the end for those who want a quick read)
It was leaking coolant from either one of the front intake manifold bolts or had a bad gasket (leak was coming from the front driver side.) Well I decided I would just put a new intake manifold gasket in it and keep it running. I also decide to pull some of the smog pump emissions stuff off while I was in there. I had taken the belt off the smog pump about 2 years ago because it had seized up and had no issue with the car performance wise, so I figured I might as well pull some of the hoses and other stuff off just to clean up the engine compartment. So I tear it apart, get in there and see that the intake manifold has some pitting,
no biggie ill just replace the intake manifold also. So at the end of the day, the intake manifold, intake manifold gasket, and valve cover gaskets all get replaced. Small side note the gasket I used plugged the center port on the intake manifold which from what I understand was for gases to help warm the engine. I also remove the hard metal hoses going into the engine right above the exhaust that went to the smog pump, pulled the smog pump. Plugged and rerouted all the vacuum hoses. Couple pictures of then engine after everything was done follows