El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
717 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a bare block from a friend of mine for $100. :banana: It was matching numbers to his 69 Corevette Stringray.
The PO of the vet was hobby engine builder with full access to a shop. He sold the vet, along with the matching block, to my friend. The vet has since been totaled. So I was sold the spare matching block. The block has all the machine work done, bored over .03, cam bearings installed, decked, etc, but it'll all be double checked.
One thing that concerns me was some rust on the rear main where the inhibitor was wiped away, it cause a little pitting. But I'm going to send it to a machine shop this month to have it looked over.

Anyways.

I've been kicking around the idea of a 383 for a long time. It's intriguing due to it's low cost and high torque. I figure now is a better time than any to do my first build.

Since I'm new to engine building, I was more or less going to copy a proven build part for part.

I would like to see it in my 68 by March.

I've purchased some books on engine building to help guide me & teach me along the way. But I'll also be relying on web articles and of course, your advice.

My biggest "must have" is reliability. This is a street car and wont be seeing any strips.

I'll post my parts list soon and I'd really appreciate if anyone with building experience could review it and chime in.

I'm looking forward to sharing this build.

Thanks for reading!!!

·
Premium Member
341 Posts
Hey Matteo,

I'll offer some suggestions, not as an expert, but as someone who's been where you're going as an amateur building a stroker. My build was a 521 stroker from a Lincoln 460 but the challenges are the same.