El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody, I'm a little new at this so i apologize if I'm a little slow at first.
when I was 16 (I'm still pretty young) I got a 1985 el camino as my first car. I've been driving it for the last few years and I love it, but i would really enjoy being able to redo the front suspension because well... it handles a bit like a boat. I'm not looking for something too overly crazy and expensive, but I was hoping to find a bolt on kit or something along those lines to give it more of a sport or just generally tighter suspension (whether just in the front or front and rear together) to improve cornering and handling overall. What would everyone recommend in the ways of a kit i could use to improve this?

Thanks everybody!

It's in good condition in my opinion. Spent most of its life under a cover. This is it right here..
http://imgur.com/LA4jJ

·
Registered
320 Posts
I'm not real aware of what your looking for, I like how mine handles :beer:

But lots of guys here should be able to help you.

And welcome to the fun!

·
Registered
324 Posts
If you are into autocross you will probably end up looking for a full handling package, but if you are just looking for a little more road feel then you might consider steering linkage and polyurethane bushings. The full handling packages run around 2 grand while a piecemeal suspension setup could be had for $500 - $700 finished (these are ballpark). Check your steering linkage out for any loose connections, and dig around the site for the Jeep intermediate shaft upgrade (this might be my next project). At the moment I am beginning my suspension work, and will probably still be working on it this time next year as I buy a part here and there.

Good luck!
J:beer:

·
Premium Member
2,050 Posts
This should work instead i believe..
www.imgur.com/LA4jJ
i dig the wheels - haven't seen those before