El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to rewire my 74 Elky. There is such a "pasgetty" mess under the dash. This Elky has at one time been in a high school auto shop. It has been cut in half and mated with a 75
Elky rear end. The cut being made right behind the seat. I just rebuilt the entire steering column. (With a couple of parts missing.) I am now being forced to put all of the ignition switch and neutral safety switch with toggle switches. Trying to figure out how has rattled my brain. I'm just a shade tree mechanic. Only working on a car when it brakes down.
Now I have this Elky. It runs but needs a little work done so I can get it inspected.
Well one day I thought that I would run down why the horn wasn't working. When I took the steering wheel off. And went a little deeper into the column. A hand full of bearings went spilling all over the floor. The old nylon bearings had completely disintegrated. I bought the new steel ones to replace it. Now that the column is almost finished the ignition actuating rod
broke. (The end that goes into the ignition switch) Finding that has been a real pain. First I found it online. The complete rod and the metal end that goes on it for $61.00. I just found the rod itself in the OPG book for 0.99 cents. Now here is the kicker. I live on a fixed income. This month (April, 2012) I paid my bills. And bought the tool to compress the spring in the column. Now I hope that when the dust settles. I'll have enough to buy the actuating rod.