El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
I'm new to El Caminos and found this board a wealth of information. I look forward to learning more from you.
I recently removed the headliner in my 77 and found that instead of wire bows to hold the headliner, the head liner sewed on to plastic bows that slipped into notches in the top of the cab. As I search for a replacement headliner, it appears that for the 77, it requires the wire bows.
If I order a new headliner for a 77, should it come sewed to the plastic bows or will I need to purchase and install the wire bows? If I need to go with the wire bows, how many are used and how are they held in place?
I tried searching this board and didn't find anything that answered my questions so I hope I don't repeat an often repeated question! :)
Thanks for anything you can share and I enjoy the board!

·
Registered
794 Posts
I just purchased a headliner for my 74 Elky and it had the plastic bows that hook into the roof already attached to it. I ordered it from Original Parts Group. They aren't like the original with one complete plastic bow sewn in across to whole thing, but 5 (I think) individual plastic keepers that are adjustable (slide). Haven't tried to put it in yet, may be a while.
Hope this helps.
Lee

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
This possibly will sound a little stupid but. I took all that crap out of my 76. I redid the headliner without all that and used upgraded material like they use in cars now.