El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

As a total noob here and to cars as project hot rods I am asking is there a "hammer simple" solution to all of the issues with these automatic transmissions?

Is there a better alternative in a 4 or 5 speed manual shift with a clutch?

What are the benefits and the drawbacks?

I need absolute reliability and affordability if that is possible in the same sentence.

I'm having issues with my 1984's 3 speed on the column now. Does not have overdrive. I like the automatic until it started giving me issues a few days ago. After reading the infinite number of possibilities that can cause issues, I am wondering if there is anything bomb proof and like a socket going on a ratchet - that just works because there is nothing else it can do?

Now I am already thinking about a replacement or possibly a manual shift. I just want it to be reliable. I am completely charmed by this car even in it's stock 305ci and 3 speed form. It just that at 28 years old I think that I am just begining to see a log stream of issues.

Ideally if I had the kind of money that it takes I'd drop a 350 crate motor in it with a matching crate tranny

What is the cost to rebuild my 3 speed?

What would a new one cost?

What would a rebuilt one cost?

Is there a better alternative cost wise in a 4 speed or five speed manual?

Is there a drop in for my car?

New cost? Used cost?

What would a 5 or 5 speed cost?

Thanks in advance for all of the great help so far you guys. I really appreciate the way people throw in here on this forum. One of the best on line!

Best regards,

Fiftysixer

·
Registered
11,510 Posts
that just works because there is nothing else it can do?

this is the only thing that fills those specifications