El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,134 Posts
I have had them in my Elkie for a year so far, the only problem I had was with an air line. It got pinched at the bottom of the bag where it enters the spring through the perch. Other than that no problems. When you run the air lines try to leave a loop of line somewhere on the run so you'll have a little to play with if they get cut down near the axle.
I'm a carpenter and use my truck for work. I frequently have heavy loads in the bed, they work well for me.
Ang.

·
Banned
5,787 Posts
man 396 i dont know,, loooks like some inferior plasic used there . i would just throw it the junk pile:poke::poke:, no really those look nice good luck with the project:beer:

·
Deputy Director Region 6
8,767 Posts
I had no problem with mine !! They even help with racing ! I put about 5 more pounds in the right bag to help in the hookup on the starting line ! (I use two air valves) I have another set to put on my 87 ! KYB shocks & these are a great ride ! :beer:

·
Registered
23 Posts
I've used them for about 10 years on my '87, with an onboard compressor. I had to replace them this year because the rubber got old, cracked and leaked. 10 year service life isn't bad. They are great when you need to haul something heavy.

·
Registered
1,348 Posts
I have essentially the same thing on the front on my motorhome. Heck, I have the same sort of things on my tractor/trailer. You'd be surprised how thin a bag is that can support 9,000 pounds each.

·
Premium Member
3,167 Posts
We used to install AirLift products on RV applications and they make a a superior product . I have a set for my 86 El but haven't installed them yet.I may not need them since I don't use my El for hauling or towing heavy loads. Great product,install with confidence !! WP

·
Super Moderator
4,363 Posts