El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1969 Chevy el Camino
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for a 1968-1972 El Camino. Needs air conditioning, no rust, low mileage or rebuilt. $25,000ish or less and I have cash. I am not looking for a show car, numbers matching, all original, etc. I am not a mechanic or capable of restoring a car although I wish I had those skills. I do want a car that is mechanically sound, has no issues and can be driven on a somewhat normal basis. Restored, rebuilt, replica parts, more modern features are all fine. I just want a cool car I can drive that looks and runs good. Auto or manual, 350 engine is fine but if it's bigger, that's OK too. Doesn't have to be an SS but if it is or is made to look like one, that'll do. You can tell me what kind of transmission, rear, big block small block, Edelbrock this and Hurst that but I really don't know what it all means other than looking it up like anyone else can. I have been looking at various websites for 2 years while I've been saving but am a little wary of dealers, private sellers and auctions with my limited knowledge. I just don't want to get ripped off. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,630 Posts
I'll keep my eyes open. Its good to ask around. I was having dinner with a co volunteer and we were talking cars. He asked me if anybody was looking for a nice 69 el camino, I said ME!!! Turns out it was a real SS396 with a 1977 454 with only 2000 miles on it. New TH400 and new paint, it needed an interior, he was asking 12 but I could get him down to 11. I was waiting to see the car and when he pulled in with this beautiful dark blue 69 SS396 elco I forgot about 11 and couldn't get the 12 out of my pocket fast enough.. I out a new interior in it along with a modern suspension and I've never been happier..