El Camino Central Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I got my flowmasters put on today! He sounds like he looks now! I also bought Hedman shorty headers and an edelbrock intake manifold (thanks to the beast for finding it!) I really want to coat them myself since I have to get so much of the other stuff done elsewhere. I found lots of info on the web about DIY coating but I want yalls opinion and tips! Thanks, Kim

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
So I'm guessing nobody else has coated headers themselves.... well I'm gonna go for it so ill post pics (or have the beast post pics for me :)) as I go along. Who knows maybe they'll turn out so good that ill start a coating business! Just kidding.. the headers should be here by Monday so ill start it next week!

· Registered
40 Posts
My friend and I coated the exhaust from a two stroke ultralight aircraft engine a few years back. In order to heat cure the ceramic coating, we had to use a steel drum and a propane barbecue burner as an oven. It looked really good when it was finished, but after a few hours of flight it started flaking off in pretty big pieces. It seems that we were unable to reach the proper temperature in our makeshift oven.
New coatings are probably more forgiving than the older stuff. I say give it a shot and report on your results. If it works for you, I might try coating a set of headers for my cruck.
Rick

· Premium Member
1,324 Posts
IF you have a spare oven (wouldn't advise using the one you have for food), you can get the temp/duration covered. I've talked to some who've done it, and prep isn't all that difficult, and neither is the coating process. The CURING process is what keeps everyone away. Definitely don't use your wife's/mother's oven, or you'll never hear the end of it.:poke:

· Registered
555 Posts