El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1969 El camino who's front end has been wrapped around a tree. I removed all the fenders , hood, grille etc. to access the damage. The driver side of the frame is bent up. I would say it is about six inches of the frame. I took it to a frame shop and the guy told me to just get a whole new frame. Another guy said, oh i'll do it for $800. Why does one person think they can do it the other say's no? I've been looking for a parts car for some time to no avail. Here is my question. Can I swap out a chevelle frame to my El Camino? If so, just a 69 or can I do a 68 as well? I am really new to car composition...so here is my next dumb question. I had a friend ranting on about how he thought it had a sub frame and this makes things easier. What does that mean and how does it make things easier?
Also, I am wondering if this is an option. Can I cut that part off of another car and weld it on to mine? I understand this will compromise the integrity of the frame but how much?
Thanks

·
Registered
342 Posts
Hey El Flowne 69,

Sorry to hear about your bender . . . here's what I can tell you after many years working in different body shops:

A frame can be fixed within reason. Depending upon how much the rail is kinked or "Z'ed" over itself, it may or may not be worth repairing. The biggest issue is not necessarily whether or not it will be straightened and "squared up" again (although this is of paramount importance), but how much structural integrity is left after it is heated, re-bent in shape, welded where splits happen, etc. I have seen frame rails that were heated to remove a bad "accordian" style bend - the rail was the correct length and square when repaired, but the waves were still in the rail. If the same car is in another accident, the repaired rail could collapse with much less pressure than in the original accident due to the repair.