El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been thinking about one of these, I like the Mr. Gasket with the big adjustment knob (1-5 psi) but have read where they are not accurate and often leak around the knob..what do you guys use?

·
Venerated Member RIP
2,918 Posts
Don't go the cheap route - try to avoid 'made in china' parts. I had a mid-range priced unit spew fuel on headers before - lucky I didn't lose my elky.

I would look at some of the brands available at JEGS and spend a little more than the MR Gasket one...

I don't use one now at all - so I'll let someone else on site make a specific recommendation on the higher end units.

Good Luck

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thanks for the info...Ive never used one on any car Ive had and looking for one reliable but not high priced, Ive been running an Edelbrock 1406 carb on stock 305 since 2006, never had any problems driving but has always been hard to start hot, been told it might be trickling fuel after shut down from too much pump pressure pushing the float needle off its seat.

·
Registered
1,424 Posts
Hey JM , I have the Holley fuel pressure regulator about $ 30 its mounted on the inner fender and works great .... be sure to use a liquid filled fuel pressure gauge you'll find in Jegs or Summitt catalogues , because those junky Mr. Gasket pressure gauge you find at the auto parts sometimes flutter up & down or go hay-wire , pure chines junk ... on my Edelb. 600 carb they say that 7 lbs. pressure is the max you want to set the regulator at foran Edelbrock carb .... Thanks the Geezer :nanawrench:

·
Registered
12,533 Posts
x2 on the holley regulator..:texas:

Fuel Pumps and Pressure​
Avoid extremes in fuel pressure. At IDLE, there should not be any more than 6.0 psi; if the vehicle has
an adjustable fuel-pressure regulator, set it to 5.5 psi. With most fuel pumps the minimum fuel