El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats up everyone, very glad to be apart of the NECOA family. This is my very first Elco and I hope I can whip this thing into shape as it can be the first one I have ever driven or even rode in. I picture myself picking yall's brain as much as possible seeing as this will basically be my very first ever major project as well. I don't have much experience working on classic cars like this, but I was a diesel mechanic in the Marine Corps for 5 years so I can pick things up good.

So I found this 75 Classic when I was surfing the web one day at the USO in Afghanistan (Marine Corps) $500 which I thought was an absolute steal. The owner emailed me back and told me how it had recently been stolen and crashed into something with minor front end damage, and he did not want to fool with it anymore.

Its supposedly all original except for the engine being rebuilt at some point in the late 90's. I can't remember what he mentioned about it.

Anyways, I let the truck sit for the past 4 years as I struggled with employment issues and raising my 2 young daughters but I've finally found myself in the position where I can start tinkering with it on the weekends and a bit during the week.

My first mission is to attempt to rebuild the steering column or just replace it due to the fact that the thieving *******s whole stole it ripped the steering column apart in order to manipulate the ignition actuator rod to start it. However since I'm still kinda strapped for cash I've already begun the tear down of the column.

So I begin with my first post on any tips, tricks or advice you fine folks might have.

1) I have already purchased a CD based GM Service Manual from Ebay that covers everything. the diagrams are okay I guess. kinda expected better, but oh well.