El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm a Michigan resident, and my 5 year old son keeps asking to go with me in my El Camino (5th gen)...

I've searched for this with minimal results.. Anyone have any experience here? What are the laws/rules/regulations?

Thank you in Advance.

·
Registered
358 Posts
Seat Belt him in,....

Hey ElcoMan, Guess if you strap him in the seat belt, it'll be legal. Unless you mean in the P/U bed? If so, then tie down a lawn chair and belt him in, the local Police will let you know real quick if it's OK,... :neutral: George

·
Registered
3,698 Posts
elcoman,

Google: Michigan child passenger safety law. You'll see post by the Michigan State Police about your question.

Doug

·
Registered
4,135 Posts
You should be ok as long as you use an approved child seat.

·
Registered
3,714 Posts
I stood up next to dad when I was 5 yrs old. I see nothing wrong with that. No matter what we drove, my place was beside him. Standing up. The only belt I ever saw was when I talked back to him or mom.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Registered
3,698 Posts
elcoman,
I'm 66 years old and my baby girl is 28 years old! I can't tell you about car seats for 5 year olds, and, I don't understand or have heard of car seat anchors other than seat belts!

Doug

Drive your elco (and take the car seat) to a Michigan State police post and they'll show you how to legally secure a car seat!

·
Registered
558 Posts