El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
3,150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Am considering having my 305 changed to a 350. Have oil leaks and a lifter making noise. Figure it would be better to change than repair. Need suggestions as to where to get a good crate engine, what type, LS or carb? Will I also have to have the transmission changed? Obviously, I'm not a mechanic, so need recommendations before I begin. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
791 Posts
A 350 is an easy drop in if everything else is working good. An LS with a carb is probably the next step up with the price going up accordingly. The trans can stay either way, but a spacer is required for the LS swap. Fuel injection LS is costly but IMO worth it in the end, however, mine took me 3 years to complete. Honestly I could have done it in a month or two but would still be paying off credit cards! All I can say is get all the input you can and go with what feels the most comfortable as far as price and output is concerned. Not knowing what trans you have and the condition it is in is also a factor. If it is working well and you are happy with it's performance I would factor that in and consider the crate 350 or some other form of small block that would drop in with ease. Good luck and glad to hear from you and that you are well, I missed you at the 60th and hope to catch you at another show in the future.

Joe

·
Registered
3,150 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Elly Girl
Possibly Ralph (HotRodElCo) can provide an update on the BluePrint crate engine he installed into an El Camino in 2014. If it is still local, he may have heard comments on reliability, performance and if any warranty work was needed.

https://www.elcaminocentral.com/showthread.php?t=95969
He will probably be doing the work for me. Just trying to get a bit better informed before I talk to him.

·
Registered
12,426 Posts
hey Deanna
X2 on talking to Hotrod
are you still running the Computer now?? are you keeping it??