El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys and gals,

I just baught my 81 elky!! take a look http://elcaminocentral.com/users/bigsteves81/
Anyway. I am looking to take most of the trim off of it as I have seen in many pictures.
This is my first project car and there is still alot I do not know. I hope to learn quickly and this summer fix my elky up to the point that it looks really good. My first task is to remove all this chrome trim. I like the look of it all smooth and gone. So here are my two questions for this post.

The trim on the doors. This does not want to come off it seems, I thought it might be attached by clips but I heard from someone else that it is actualy fastened on from the other side of the door. Is this true? I would like to know BEFORE I take the doors apart. How would I go about taking it off?
Second, the trim over the bed, when I started to remove this I found that it was not straight forward as I would have thought. I figured I would take it off, and then paint it but come to find out under the trim it was pretty ugly...the body does not seem to be attached to the other parts as I had hoped ... how do most people get by this? should I use filler? or is there a trick to this? I do not know how to explain it really well. under this chrome like trim is the body panel that you can see, and then like the steel part of the bed, but they are seperated greatly... I do not want to allow water to get between there and set. Perhaps someone has a good idea for this?
Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreaciated.

·
Registered
314 Posts
If your talking about the aftermarket strip on that picture, its probably held on by adhesive.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3