El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My '83 has the stock V6 in it still, but she's getting up there in miles and has an oil leak somewhere. Suffice to say, I think it's time to retire the old engine!
So I had some questions for all of you knowledgeable sorts, since I've never done this before.

• The age old question, build or buy?
  • I've heard the motor mounts will have to be moved?
  • Will doing the swap require a new radiator and fan? I've seen that mentioned several times as well..
  • Any advice on a matching transmission?
I'm in college, so I'm on a bit of a budget! I'm not looking to put together a drag racing monster, but a bit of power would be nice. I've seen mentions of the right 350/tranny combos still pulling 20+ mpg?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
174 Posts
What trans do you currently have?

I hope to knock down over 23mpg with my setup I have in the works.

350 mated to a 4L80e tuned to get into OD sooner than later.

If you do not want power find a pullout for a few bucks and a gasket kit. If the walls of the cylinders look like crap may want to try again or do a light hone and a rering kit.

My motor has around $300 in it with gaskets, new oil pump, fuel pump, and intake. I put a nicer carb on top to help with tuning but it was still had for $300 and change.

·
TrannyMike
2,807 Posts
You are gonna most likely have a 250 or 350 trans now. The easy way to go would be a 350 built for a V8, it will fit with no mods. Your trans may look the same as one out of a V8 but it's not. The clutch packs have fewer plates in the V6 version. If you want overdrive the best trans for you would be a 200-4R. It's not a cheap conversion but works well.