El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to working on cars and new owner of 84 caballero 305 i want to change the coolant because it was running hot. is it as simple as un do plug let coolant drain , flush with water , fill with coolant50/50? I researched and some said stuff about block plugs? I appreciate the advice and sorry if this is in wrong topic? and how much coolant 3 gallons? I want her to run cool... i live in california so it doesn't get too cold

·
Deputy Director Region 6 - Supporting Member
6,209 Posts
Changing the coolant (only) can be a simple as the drain and refill as you mention. Flushing the system for the change is not much more effort...But...With overheating the first thing you need to do is pressure test the cooling system. Including the radiator cap you take off to apply the pump up gauge for doing it. That will also reveal if you have some leak from any of the freeze plugs that are in the block. I like to add a 'flushing tee' to the heater hose line going into the core for flushing (the one coming out of the water pump). Do it with engine running and turn on the heat to open circulation through the heater core too. For any purchased flush or clean products, just follow instructions on the bottle.......But Pressure test pressure test pressure test to search for the cause of overheating!

Good luck! :beer:

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys for the quick reply

unfortunately i don't have a pressure test.. but thanks for all the advice rtatwk ...

jjLT1 it seems more in traffic and idle then high way

·
Deputy Director Region 6 - Supporting Member
6,209 Posts
unfortunately i don't have a pressure test.. but thanks for all the advice rtatwk ...

jjLT1 it seems more in traffic and idle then high way