El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm a newbie here.Maybe you can help me.My 76 has dim(almost dark) dash lights.I can hardly see the speedo.
Can you tell me what bulbs belong in there?The previous owner said he had them replaced at a shop and thats the way they are supposed to work.Before I take out the dash pod I want to get the correct bulbs.
Thanks,Shane :D

·
Registered
1,324 Posts
Saw a note once where the owner had repainted the back side of the front panel for guage pod a reflective silver. Said that made a real difference. The lights are set in the back panel of the instrument cluster, where thery connect to the printed circuit, and reflect off the back side of the front panel onto the faces of the guages. Gloss white paint would also work for better reflected light that the original green plastic.

Apparently in his car that front panel was removable without taking out the whole instrument cluster, though removing the whole instrument cluster is not that big an issue--I've had the opportunity to practice a few times chasing electrical gremlins. Haven't tried the reflective paint trick (yet) cuz the guages are working fine now and other stuff needed more work.

HTH

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
greywolf said:
Saw a note once where the owner had repainted the back side of the front panel for guage pod a reflective silver. Said that made a real difference. HTH