El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been wondering about this for awhile out of curiosity. But what would be the negative effects of putting 1.94 valve seats in a head. Assuming the throat directly behind the valve would be larger. Then running a 1.90 valve lapped and ground to the appropriate angles to match the seat?

Would the contact patch of the valve be to small causing the valve to stick, distort or maybe crack... maybe beat the valve seats to death? Who knows but I've wondered about that for years but never had anybody to ask :ROFLMAO:

·
Premium Member
396 Posts
I'm no techie from any standpoint, but just from the description you posted I can only guess what would happen. At .004 difference the valve lapped in would seat a very small amount higher?(maybe .001?) which might change the valve spring installed height by another .001? Kind of a curiosity though, maybe the smaller diameter would have an effect on flow? As far as seat contact, I don't think there would a problem as long as there was enough contact to achieve a good seal. Of course, being an novice at these things I could be inviting an engine explosion! What exactly are you thinking it would do?

Joe

·
Premium Member
396 Posts
X2

larger seats are done all the time,
with a larger throat [bowl job] ..
but now days you can get super large heads..
like 240cc ports with 2.100 valves.. [depending on the bore]
[/QUOTE]
In my defense it was after midnight but I did displace that decimal point!
X2 with the off the shelf super large heads.

Joe

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
87ls Yeah that would be 0.04 difference or 0.02 all the way around if you measure from the center.