El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can any one tell me what is going on with my truck's gas gauge? I'm still learning about this truck. It HAS BEEN worked on by others before I got it. I have filled the tank on slow flow several times now and all the gauge reads at fill up is 3/4 full. After driving for a few days the gauge comes off 3/4 towards half full, the needle swings back and forth about the 1/4 tank markings until it bottoms out at empty. I'm now getting about 22+ miles per gallon so it takes awhile for the gauge to move down the scale to empty. It seems to me that the sending unit has been replaced and not installed in the right position since it swings so much and the register being off. I had to redo the ground on the back of the truck after finding wiring issues. I don't seem to have any wiring issues now. Everything works now, just the gas gauge doesn't register correctly. It has been this way since I got the truck. Appreciate any helpful feed back. Thanks

·
Premium Member
281 Posts
It's pretty hard to install in the wrong position. If the gauge is swinging wildly up and down, I would suspect that a baffle has broken loose inside the tank allowing a lot of fuel sloshing around. One other thing is there can be corrosion in the resistor at the sending unit. Hope this helps or at least eliminates a couple of things that can go wrong. If it turns out you need a sending unit I might have you covered, but I only have two and one is already spoken for so far.

Joe

Joe

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply Joe. I'm not looking forward to dropping the gas tank to check out the sending unit or if a baffle has broken off inside the tank. A winter project I guess. I don't remember if the other El Caminos I had had a normal, steady read out or a fluctuating needle on the gas gauge.

·
Registered
77 Posts