El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sup guys. I have a TBI ,.327 bored .040 over,(TRW part # L2165) Flat top pistons with World Castings heads, Scorpion Roller Rockers (1.5) with Chet Herbert 7.900 / .083 pushrods. the cam is wiped. I believe it to be a Crane Cam P/N 100052. (two of the lifters are actually concaved!!!!!!!! Check out my pics and let me know what you think. My question is, should I stick with this cam or is there another set-up that might be better. If you've been follwing me then you know this a donor motor I got for free from a 82 pickup and that I'm new to the hot rod scene and full of questions, some better than others. I've gotten nothing but positive feeback on what I've inherited as my first project. Any input you guys have would be really appreciated.

http://www.cranecams.com/product/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=23760

http://photobucket.com/TonyW81

·
VINTAGE MOTORHEAD
4,102 Posts
If you replace it with another flat tappet setup be sure to fire it up for break-in after changing oil and filter. You must add an oil additive containing "ZDDP", a blend of zinc and phosphorous molecules that will bond to the virgin surfaces and protect them during break-in and thereafter. Castrol has a new oil out, name escapes me, that provides this ZDDP . With any solid lifter cam it is critical to ensure adequate clearance. Too tight on the valve clearances will scrape too much oil off the lobes as they rotate towards the lifter causing damage that will eventually put you right back in the same position.I prefer to run a couple extra thousandths of clearance, especially on exhaust side.
You might be able to go for a roller setup for little more money.Rollers are sweet.
Like STEELYBILL cautioned, break it in @ 2000 RPM, don't let it idle.
James

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Is this a cam you installed ? Was it broke in at 2000+ RPM for around 1/2 hour??