El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I my 357 crapped out. So I was thinking of getting this
SB-Chevy 396ci Stroker/ 485HP/ 500TQ.

Now if I'm spending this type of money is this a good route to go? I saw a 496 for the same price but then i have to get a bunch of new part to fit it. Just don't want to spend all this money and then regret it. Here is a link. Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.jegs.com/i/Blueprint+Engines/138/BP3961CT/10002/-1

·
Premium Member
421 Posts
I just went thru the same thing, looking for a replacement engine.
I'm not an engine expert or even close but from what I understand that 396 small block has been bored to it's max. So if you have to do a rebuild in the furture it won't be possible.
After all my reseach I bought the GM ZZ383. It still has the big torque numbers that gets you off the line and in the furture if I need more hp a few changes like a hotter cam should do the trick.
The engine has been in the elky for about 2 weeks and I couldn't be happier. What a hugh change from the tried 327 it replaced.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm just looking for the best engine for the buck that will have great HP and will work with all the parts I currently have for the 357. Really need to get this done asap! This is torture.

·
Premium Member
421 Posts
If I lived in the states I would have considered the blueprint or patriot engines but shipping and warrenty were a concern. The other reason I went with the gm engine is that they kept the compression ratio low and still got the power where as the others have greater ratios.

·
Premium Member
421 Posts
I much as I like the new engines I was in the same boat as you. I wanted it a simple drop in, using all the parts from the old engine like pulleys and fuel cell. Dropping in an ls ment a lot of changes.

·
Registered
1,761 Posts