El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I got a '81 Camino with the 5.0 engine and the horn worked when I bought it, but suddenly stopped. I tried checking out the fuse box but none clearly said "horn" and from what I saw online it doesn't look like there a fuse for the horn. Any help would be great! =D

·
Registered
335 Posts
is it an original horn ? may have fried

check your contacts in the steering wheel they can become corroded

and i am note sure if there is a fuse
:nanawrench:

·
Registered
11,510 Posts
When you try to honk the horn, is there a "clicking" noise from under the dash? If not, the relay has died. Cheap ($8) easy fix.

:poke:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for all the help, yes it's original
Do you remember the amps for that fuse?
There's no clicking, sounds like a plan, I've never done it before, know of any "how-to's"?

·
Registered
11,510 Posts
you have 3 relays under the dash (stock) 2 plug into fuse box and are for turn signals and flashers, they may be either round or square. the other one is square and when you unplug it, will have 3 prongs. get a new one at the parts store, and it wiill be easy to recognize the old one. The clicking noise is caused by the bi-metal piece inside closing the circuit, and making the horn honk when you push the horn pad.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
LOOK at this ↓
https://www.elcaminocentral.com/d2/articles/wiring/821.gif

The Fuse is Marked CTSY & is a 20 amp
Thank you so much! And everybody else too!!!
So I replaced this fuse, and although the horn still doesn't work, there's the "clicking" noise, what's that mean?
In regards to the interior lights, I don't know if they still work because a while back it wasn't turning off (even after car was off and doors were closed) so I just took out the bulb.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #15