El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,535 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have some small hail dents in the roof and hood. They range from about 1/8" to maybe 1/2". I need to repair them before I get the truck painted.

I'm just about ready to start all the body repair. All trim is off and there's no head liner. I'm going to rip out the underhood insulation since it continually drops dirt in the engine bay. That means I can get to both sides of the dents.

I've watched videos of people using dry ice, but most of them were not very successful.

I don't have any body hammers and "anvils" (whatever they're called), but Harbor Freight has a set for about $40. Should I try that route? I have no experience.

I have some Clausen Z-CHROME™ Self-Etching Body Filler. I saw it used on one of the TV shows, Muscle Cars, I think. They claim it doesn't shrink. Would that be a viable option?

Jack

·
Deputy Director Region 6 - Supporting Member
6,209 Posts
The 'Dent Man' in my area here uses things that look like kids rubber darts (on original paint). And has some things like vacuums to put over the small dents from hail too. Work from the back side is usually done with just a rod, not hammers. The guy is amazing to watch...even on big dents! Sorry but I don't think he will make house calls to Texas like he does here. Check with a few body shops to see if there is someone like that in your area. Yes even body shops call this guy in! An insurance adjuster may have someone on their list too if you know of any you can ask.

Anyway...My vote is fix, not filler.

:beer:

·
Registered
38 Posts
40 bucks for a hammer and dolly/anvil set is pretty decent. just remember when working the dents dont hammer, tap. and dont hammer on top of where the dolly is on the back or front side of what you are hammering. if youre doing it yourself.

best of luck

Dirdy

·
Deputy Director, Region 1
2,566 Posts