El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How would I go about adding a blower to my engine?

....I know, you experienced folk are prolly thinkin'..."This dude doesn't know CRAP about his car and he wants to put a blower on it?!"

I just like how they look and figured I'd ask. :nanawrench:

Probably outta my price range....but dang it sure would look cool :poke:

·
VINTAGE MOTORHEAD
4,102 Posts
You can spend as much a lot. Most critical is the get advice on gettng the correct setup so you can get the best performance and reliability. It is possible that your motor is not a good candidate for boosting unless you are willing to modify your motor's ignition,fuel cdelivery,cooling and possibly clmpression isdues.
I am no expert but have built several turbo motors. Designers use puters to design snd map your system whether turbo or supercharger.Size really matters. Beware of bargsin blowers. They almost always require service or parts. They are cool when you light 'em up.:beer:

·
Banned
5,787 Posts
Expect to start at about 6500$$$ and go up from there not for the faint at heart:beer:

·
Registered
1,381 Posts
$0.00... just drain all the oil out and drive around for a bit. :poke:

·
Registered
1,381 Posts

....I know, you experienced folk are prolly thinkin'..."This dude doesn't know CRAP about his car and he wants to put a blower on it?!"

Are you just adding it for looks? If so, I wouldn't think you'd have to build the motor an it wouldn't cost much... maybe $1000 - $2000. If you are going for big HP numbers then it will get costly. $6K - $15K depending on what you get done, plus you will have to factor in a built tranny, a stronger rear end, possibly upgrade the drive shaft, better suspension to handle the torque, good tires out back to get traction, and possibly have some extra support welded into the frame to prevent twisting.