El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So after months of back order waiting I finally have brand new springs, hinges and a hood. I have some experience with this, but have never had to remove or install hood hinge springs before. I've asked around if there is a special tool for this job but have surprisingly not heard any ideas better than pulling with a set of vice grips... yeah I don't think so... I'd like to make sure I don't hurt myself or my Elky here.

I assume that it is much easier to put the springs on with the hinges mounted on the fenders... but that worries me about tweaking the fenders with the amount of force this is going to require.

I can picture a tool that would work, a long steel bar with a hook on one end and a pulling handle on the other. Does anybody make a tool like this?

How is this done?

Thanks

·
Deputy Director, Region 1
2,566 Posts
It's actually very easy. Mount the springs on the fenders. Put the spring in the full open position. Hook the rear of the spring in its groove on the hinge then take a prybar about 26" or a little bigger and slide it through the front "C" part of the spring that hooks into the front groove on the hinge. Then slide the prybar across the front of the hinge and pull the spring until it slips into the groove. Then just slide the prybar out. If you have a real good heavy duty long thick screwdriver it will work too. Just make sure whatever you use is straight and good heavy duty metal that won't bend or break.

·
2,566 Posts