El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I just started a complete restoration of an '83 el camino that I've had sitting in my driveway for a couple of years. I love the trucks and have owned 5 over the years. I've always wanted to do a restoration but have never found the time to start.

I've jumped in feet first! The LS1 corvette engine arrives next week, my favorite tranny mechanic is building a 4L60E for it, we've picked out the right color (major family topic for a couple of weeks) and I'm in the throws of figuring out what to do with the interior.

I bought a couple of 45lb solenoids to pop the doors (I plan to shave the door handles.) I mounted the solenoids and used copper rod and clamps to attach them to the door latching mechanism. Everything works but the door only opens to a 1/2 latch postion when I push the button. Any thoughts on what to do to get it to open all the way?

I'm a novice at this and I'm sure I'm missing something simple!

Thanks in advance for your input and help.

Jerry Tilley aka Boxtakilla.

·
not around as much
2,192 Posts
I'm not a pro on this but I thought there were springs that were suppose to help push the door open.

What color did you choose. I promise not to steal the idea. :wink:

·
Vendor
4,363 Posts
This is what you need here:
Door poppers
You can probably find them cheaper elsewhere, but this gives you an idea.
I shaved mine as well. I began with 25 lbs solenoids and they just weren't strong enough. I now have a pair of 35 lbs, but they could do better. Where did you find the 45 lb'ers?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the advice guys.