El Camino Central Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all!

My name is John O'Callaghan, and I am brand new to this discussion board. I know little to nothing about El Caminos, except for the fact that my father, Kevin O'Callaghan, built one in the 70's. I was home for the holidays and we went through his old photo albums and i could see how much he missed that car. I took the liberty of scanning all of the photos I could of the car and also the article that was written up about it in the Sept. 1976 issue of Street Power Magazine. I am trying to hunt down his old El Camino, if it still exists, to see if I can acquire it for a retirement gift for him and I to re-rebuild together.

A little about the car and my dad:
It's a blue, 71 El Camino SS with some pin striping on the sides.
My father worked on long island at the time at a machine shop in Massapequa. That's where he built the engine. The 454 block he kept redish/orange and almost all other parts possible he chromed. He won the Nassau Coliseum First Prize in class (not sure what year). Around 1979 he had to sell the car with a wife and kids on the way. At one point, and I'm not sure if this is why he sold the car, but he twisted the rear end doing a burn out on sunrise highway in Bellmore at the car show. One wheel hit pavement, the other a wet sewer cap, and the whole rear had to be replaced.
The plate number when he had it was: 222-FSL and it was last registered to him around 1978. I do not know the VIN.

I'm not sure who he sold it to, where it is now, or anything past his ownership really.

Below are some photos if anyone has seen this car!

Any tips or advice any of you have on how or where to begin the search would be much appreciated!

Thank you all and have a fantastic New Year!

·
Registered
2,672 Posts