El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
1983 El Camino SS - Choo Choo Custom
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Trying to find a working stock radio w/ cassette for my '83 SS. The build sheet says it came with "UN3 AM/FM Cassett". It's been replaced and I'm trying to get it back to the way it came from the factory. Have found some 3.5" dash speakers to replace the originals.
Thanks,
Gabe

·
Registered
87 TX import
42 Posts
Trying to find a working stock radio w/ cassette for my '83 SS. The build sheet says it came with "UN3 AM/FM Cassett". It's been replaced and I'm trying to get it back to the way it came from the factory. Have found some 3.5" dash speakers to replace the originals.
Thanks,
Gabe
I'm a newbie to the El Camino world, so I apologize in advance if this isn't what you're after. But I just stumbled across it on eBay while searching for bits for my (soon to arrive) Elkie.

·
Registered
1,719 Posts
That’s the 1.5 DIN or whatever GM called it-it’s a great radio but won’t fit in an ‘85 or older unless you swap out the panel and pieces around it. OP wants the single DIN with knobs on either side.
Patrick

·
Premium Member
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Toad & Patrick,
Thanks for the input. Learning as I go as well. Got the ole gal running after sitting for many many years, now sorting out a few non mechanical things. Toad, Good luck with your project.
Gabe

·
Registered
1,679 Posts
They made some really nice aftermarket sound systems for that dash. They fit just a good as the stock unit but sound light years better and look real nice.. I like the Alpine units. The sound is amazing..

·
Premium Member
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Pitts,
Sound-wise I'd prefer this, but going for the stock setup if I'm able to round up the parts reasonably.
Also looking at some RetroSound options. New technology with a vintage look (no cassette tho).

·
Registered
1,679 Posts