El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an engine from a 2006 Monte Carlo ss and a transmission from a 2010 Camaro ss will these work together?

·
Premium Member
1,357 Posts
What transmission type was in the Monte Carlo? The reason I ask is that there can be mismatches at the flexplate and maybe the input shaft to the transmission. I'm far from an expert here on what works with what.

If you want to go with an LS engine and transmission, it will be more expensive and time-consuming than simply rebuilding your original engine or buying a similar engine. I switched from an original 1970 small block 350 engine and TH350 transmission to a 1999 GMC Sierra 5.3 liter LS (actually, an "LM7") engine and 4L60E transmission. The ripple effects here are many. Different engine mounts, oil pan, powertrain control module, wiring harness change, shortened & re-balanced drive shaft, moved trans cross member, possible headers required, electric fuel pump for 58 PSI in the fuel tank, fuel pump regulator, possible floor pan sheet metal surgery to fit the new transmission, differential gear change possibly required. I'm probably forgetting something.

I must be insane now that I write all of this down. I read two books cover to cover about LS swaps beforehand and still did it. I'm still working through issues with my swap and I've been working on it since April, 2017. But the engine starts easily, has great gas mileage and good power.

But really????????

Rick

·
Premium Member
823 Posts