El Camino Central Forum banner

Body / Sheet metal welder of choice

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to get into some body work. A floor pan and some patches in the cab. Also was thinking about cutting off the drip rails and need to weld the seams as I go so the top stays a part of the car :). So the question is MIG or Stick? I am looking at buying a very basic unit since I have no experience, well in 30 years anyway, with welding. Looking for all you welders and your experience with either.
Thanks,
Aaron

·
Registered
3,714 Posts
When you buy a mig welder.. do NOT get the flux core welder. Get the one that requires a bottle of gas. It makes a cleaner weld. I prefer tig welding on easily accessed surfaces. More concentrated puddle and still cleaner weld with no splatter.

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
When you buy a mig welder.. do NOT get the flux core welder. Get the one that requires a bottle of gas. It makes a cleaner weld. I prefer tig welding on easily accessed surfaces. More concentrated puddle and still cleaner weld with no splatter.
I appreciate that information. I think a TIG is out of my price range. The work I am doing on the 81 is the only thing I will be using it for so I do not need anything extravagent

·
Deputy Director Site Contributor
1,455 Posts
X2 with Jarhead. If TIG is out of your $$ range than Mig is the next best thing.

·
Registered
3,714 Posts
mig in Corvalis

http://corvallis.craigslist.org/tls/4558881663.html. aaron.. this is a Harbor Freight gas welder with tank and everything. In Corvalis.. for $250. That's a pretty good deal. My HF flux core mig has lasted 6 yrs so far. Not bad for $99. I use it all the time too.

·
Registered
1,725 Posts
For less than $250 (it's negotiable) I think that's a great deal. A full tank of argon, heavy duty cord, and an auto-darkening helmet! You gotta go for this deal.

·
Premium Member
224 Posts