El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I had the unfortunate luck of losing my transmission on the way to Belton last weekend, which is why I ended up missing the event. I'm not sure what hurts more: missing the Rally or having a Camino out of commission.

At any rate, I'm now trying to figure out what I can do to get it back on the road. I have no experience with transmissions, and I can't currently afford the rebuild on mine. So it looks like my options are finding a replacement or parking it until I can scrape the money together for a rebuild.

Does anyone around here know where I can get a new or rebuilt transmission for a decent price? I currently have a 700R4 to match a 350 Fastburn (385 HP). I'd like to go back with something similar, but I'm definitely open to suggestions. Heck, I even looked into converting to a manual thinking it would be a cheaper option (of course it's not).

I appreciate all of the help you guys provide on a daily basis, and thank you for taking the time to read my sob story.

Much obliged,

-Steffen

·
0 Posts
Sorry to hear you missed it. What part of the area where you in when you lost the trans? We woulda come got ya.
A 350 trans is cheaper to get and build but it's no the best on gas without an overdrive. If I were you,I'd pick up a used 350 from a good salvage yard for cheap and ride while you save for the 700r rebuild.:texas:

·
Registered
1,268 Posts
I have a th200c I just took out of my Elky I will sell you for $40.00. Depending on where you live, I could meet you half way too. If you would like to buy it for a temp fix let me know. If not, good luck finding something.

·
Registered
1,424 Posts
Hey Steffen , try looking on Craigs List under Chevrolet Performance Parts in different cities and see what pops up , we missed ya Bro , see ya next year ... Thanks the Geezer :nanawrench:

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replies, fellas.