El Camino Central Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello Guys, I am new to this G-Body/ A body special thing. I have a 1979 El Camino with a 400 small block. (not original)

Here are the following upgrades I am doing:
1. Blazer/Jimmy front and rear brake upgrade
2. Jeep Cherokee steering shaft
3. Jeep Grand Cherokee Steering Box
4. 700R4 Transmission from 350
5. Long speedo to round speedo conversion

Any other ideas on any other affordable upgrades???

·
Deputy National Director
10,184 Posts
Just to let you know your 79 is officially the A-Body (64-81), G-Body started in 1982

Don't know if you have seen these threads ?

Reactions: Camino79504

·
Deputy Regional Director, Region 13
6,490 Posts
most, if not all, of the mods you mentioned are listed on the threads 87Next posted. there's also a bunch of other stuff such as sway bars, jounce bars, and a whole lot of other bars. those should be listed in the other threads also.

·
Premium Member
2,219 Posts
Its the Jeep Grand Cherokee steering box swap. Not the Commander (???), not the Liberty, Laredo and not the Sport models.

Only with the JGC box do we know the parameters for the sweep angle, torsion bar force and steering ratio. The values inside these other steering boxes are still a mystery.

You will also need a new rag joint and the Dorman 31011 part number works for me. Add a ground wire to it because the original rag joint on my 70 EC had one. YMMV.

Rick

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
87 Caballero Amarillo, original 305/200-4R, QJ
1,146 Posts
Rag joint replacement or jeep u-joint shaft is an option. Some prefer the rag joint as it can help absorb road noise and vibration, some prefer the u-joint as it gives better feel for the road. The jeep shaft is not an 'upgrade' as such, the rag joint works very well, but can be a downgrade in performance if it changes your perception of driving comfort and smoothness.