El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
743 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

long time since I’ve been on. Hope you all are doing well.

I just drop in and fired up my 383 stroker for the first time today!! It’s runs great and hits HARD...but I have some questions!

First off, I’m leaking coolant from one of my intake manifold bolts. Passenger side, second from the front. I pulled it out and put some black RTV on it. Bad move? Do I redo the gasket? Did coolant get in my oil?

Second, at idle I’m only getting about 20psi oil pressure, but as soon as I touch the throttle it rockets to a healthier 60ish. Is the 20 psi at 750 ish idle normal?

Third, what are your recommendations about how to break this motor in? Oil changes cycles, driving style, etc.
This is my first time dealing with a new engine. So far I just put conventional 10-30 with zinc additive and idled it for 10 mins, drove around city block twice. Then noticed the leaks and called it a day.

69 corvette block
Stroked
10:1
XR282HR-10 cam
RPM Intake
Dart SHP 64cc aluminum heads
Hydraulic roller lifters
1.52 Roller rockers

Thanks!!
Matteo

·
Premium Member
71 El Camino SS
146 Posts
Hi all,

long time since I’ve been on. Hope you all are doing well.

I just drop in and fired up my 383 stroker for the first time today!! It’s runs great and hits HARD...but I have some questions!

First off, I’m leaking coolant from one of my intake manifold bolts. Passenger side, second from the front. I pulled it out and put some black RTV on it. Bad move? Do I redo the gasket? Did coolant get in my oil?

Second, at idle I’m only getting about 20psi, but as soon as I touch the throttle it rockets to a healthier 60ish. Is the 20 psi at 750 ish idle normal?

Third, what are your recommendations about how to break this motor in? Oil changes cycles, driving style, etc.