El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. My name is Nathan. I have not come up with good forum name yet so Nathan will have to do for now. I am a senior citzen who was transplanted from Pennsylvania to Florida as a teenager. I am a retired engineer and have spent my working life building the safety , ( signing, signals, guardrails, lighting, etc.) portions of our highways. I live in Wesley Chapel, Florida which is about 20 miles north of Tampa.

Newly proud owner of an El Camino. I have always liked them but raising a family did not leave room for vehicles that did not hold everyone. After the children were grown and didn't want to go with their parents I bought a 2004 and then a 2007 Dodge Ram pickups with the Hemi engine. Yes, they did have a Hemi. I turned them into money pits, modifying engines, custom interiors, custom paint, etc, etc, etc. Last one hit the dyno at 957 and did the 1320 @ 11.35. So much money spent with so little return when sold.

Enough about that. Anyway when I sold the last one I decided to buy something I liked as it sits and not spend money on modifying it, (I bet you have heard that before). I have always liked the El Camino's so I started looking. Saw many that I considered across the country. They are out there but people often over state the condition of the vehicle. I finally found one I fell in love with It at first sight. It is a 1987 Choo Choo Customs model. It only has 64,461 documented miles on it and appears to have been taken care of. Don't get me wrong, it has a few things needing attention, the radio sucks, the drivers window raises and lowers quite slow, the passenger seat refuses to slide back. But, it gets thumbs up every time I take it out
Remember what I said about not modifying it.

Well, I have already put 15" wheels and larger tires on it and installed a bed cover.

Looking forward to meeting you folks as soon as this pandemic is over.

·