El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings from North Idaho - Sandpoint area! I am a teacher - career and technical ed - at a tiny high school East of Sandpoint. The school was given a pair of 1980 El Caminos, both with 3.8 v6's. One has a very nice body, the other is good, but not great. I am about to retire and am working to get them running so they can be sold. No telling what sort of teacher the school will get as my replacement. Anyway, after my students completely destroyed the carbs in each, they are at home due to COVID19 and I am left to get them running. The first on the block has 40k miles showing and was last registered for the road in '96. Wish me luck!

·
Premium Member
4,131 Posts
If you need rebuild kits, part, or a rebuild Ted and Ardelle at Mountain Man are a good resource.
Here is a thread

Here is current contact info:

[email protected]
(479) 639-2022

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
They broke the castings. I have replaced one with a new 2bbl unit. We were going to do an engine swap on the other, but that has no longer in the works. Still has the 229 with no carb.

·
Registered
2 Posts
In fact, UK research has revealed that 1 in 5 newly qualified novice drivers has crashed in the first six months after passing their test. Furthermore, available evidence suggests that a driver is considered to be inexperienced until s/he has driven 100,000 kilometres.
snaptube vidmate

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
In fact, UK research has revealed that 1 in 5 newly qualified novice drivers has crashed in the first six months after passing their test. Furthermore, available evidence suggests that a driver is considered to be inexperienced until s/he has driven 100,000 kilometres.
?? Ok, you got me. My drivers test was June, 1973.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #11 (Edited)
Thanks to all for your kind welcome!