El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Guys

I'm new to theis forum. but anyway i'v been tareing across the internet tryin ta find some kind of list, artical, any spit of info about what posi carrior the 78 to 87 G bodys came with from the factroie. however i'v had no sucess. i'm about to buy one from a guy off of a 78 to 87 maliboo/ el camino and i want to know want to look for. were the factory units any good and can they be rebuilt what size ring gear did the posi units bolt to. but most of all can they be rebuilt.

i currently have a 7.5 in open rear end. did they ever make a pos unit with a 7.5 in of are they all 8.5s?

87 GMC cabillero 400 horse 350, built 700 r4, deul exost w/ flowmaster 40s.

·
Registered
2,102 Posts
yes they came with posi rears they were a gm design in the first part of the gen 5 g body s stay away from those they are junk.they were a cone style that split in the middle along the center pin location ,easy to spot .then they went to the auburn style , a good unit for a cone posi. my posi of choice is the eaton gov lock from the s 10 class trucks and blazers.the early ones are 26 spline like our elco s and the later ones are 28 spline, you can get new 28 spline axles from summit for 250.if you buy new axles with 28 spline you can use the camaro /s 10 posi units which the junk yards are full of

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
so what did the 5th gen elcys and maloboos come stock with

·
Registered
2,102 Posts
the reason i use the govlok is it never slips,it has a ramp setup that continues to tighten the clutches until it slips no more,gm uses them in trucks and calls them thier locking rear end

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
so as i mensioned earlyer i'm lookin into buyin one from a guy. he ses it came out of a 78 to 87 malibo/ elcy. what should i look for in it? how would i tell if it's worth buyin?

·
Registered
2,102 Posts