El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Deputy Director Region 3 NJ Participating Member
2,069 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using degreasers for many years, recently changed to brand called Purple Power, seems to do a very good job degreasing and cleaning.

On my '75 eL camino SS, I put the 406 SBC in last August, replaced the headers with Hooker polished coated and the intake is aluminum which I polished up very nice. When I used the Purple Power on it, the polished areas (headers and intake) that I sprayed with the Purple Power dis-colored almost like a "fogging" effect.

I have polished aluminum valve covers on the 305 SBC in my '87 el Camino SS, degreased that a while back with another brand (don't remember the name), but it did not do anything like what happened with the Purple Power.

Anyone else have a situation like this happen to them?

·
Premium Member
4,020 Posts
Absolutely, staining happened with Purple Power.
I moved it away from my detail products.

Directions on their bottle: 1) Test an out-of-site area to determine surface acceptance and colorfastness to avoid damaging surfaces, especially aluminum, painted surfaces and fabrics.

I added a large hand printed label to my bottle. It reads
"Do Not Use Near Finished Metal"
"Rinse Thoroughly"

"Not For Engine Use"

I marked other side of bottle:
"Caution. Ruins Aluminum Finishes"

It likely will not be used a second time in my engine compartment. Possibly to clean the rearend or trans (not the aluminum trans pan). Maybe to clean parts before repainting them (not as a paint prep).

·
Registered
732 Posts
For aluminum products I like to use Simple Green Pro (purple color). Leave it in a bucket over night then hit it with a pressure washer or a little elbow grease for the really built up spots. Good as new. No corrosion. No negative finish changes.