El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, newbie here. Have a 79 with a 350/350 both from the mid 1970's rebuilds, unknown miles) and a noise I can not figure out. It sounds very much like a loose drive belt, but with more of a metallic sound. And high pitched, like something spinning fast. Removed all the drive belts (ps, water/alt) with no luck. Only does it while moving under acceleration, forward or backwards. Will not do if the car is standing still (neutral or power braking). Will not do it under very light acceleration or cruise.

One other strange thing, only happened once. When I pulled the vacuum hose for the shift modulator, it made a loud knocking sound. But only did it that one time for 10 seconds. This might need to go in the trans section, but the sound is near the front of the motor. Any idea's? thanks

·
Registered
11,510 Posts
bearing going bad in water pump or alternator? timing chain slack scraping inside of timing cover?

:dontknow:

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
drove the car without belts for 10 seconds, still made the noise. It does have a new timing chain/gears.

·
Registered
2,409 Posts
U-joint:texas:

·
Registered
4,142 Posts

·
Registered
11,510 Posts
Hi all, newbie here. Have a 79 with a 350/350 both from the mid 1970's rebuilds, unknown miles) and a noise I can not figure out. It sounds very much like a loose drive belt, but with more of a metallic sound. And high pitched, like something spinning fast. Removed all the drive belts (ps, water/alt) with no luck. Only does it while moving under acceleration, forward or backwards. Will not do if the car is standing still (neutral or power braking). Will not do it under very light acceleration or cruise.