El Camino Central Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· Registered
2,946 Posts
I have no experience with this particular combo but don't see any reason it would not be fine on your engine. All you need for the choke is a, 12v with the key "on", circuit. The wiper motor would be one source to tap into.

· Deputy National Director
10,531 Posts
Mountain man told me they have a kit to change the hot air choke to electric. If I'm not mistaken !! Might save you some money instead of buying a new carb & intake ??

· Registered
578 Posts
I believe the Summit intakes are cast by Weiand.
I've bought quite a few Summit branded parts...they all have fit well and worked good.
I intend to keep using them as the savings really add up once you figure the total cost.

· Registered
1966 El Camino
2,294 Posts
x2 on Summit = Weiand. However the design is weiand, the castings are chinese, and the machining is done in the US. I just had delivered a Summit stage 3 (weiand air gap) and based on comparison with a wieand version I feel comfortable saying its the weiand design. The casting is slightly rougher but the machining was fine.

I see no reason yet to think it wont perform just fine.

· Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
ok So im think im just gonna get the carburetor and keep the intake i have and use an adapter plate. But how would i connect the brake booster vacumm because now it is connected in my quadrajet with a metal fitting and the back of the summit carb doesent have it to thread in to.

· Registered
1966 El Camino
2,294 Posts
How much savings is there over buying the name brand made in USA part?

You should always try to buy the made in America parts. Afterall you don't live in freakin China. Support your Country.

~JM~
About 32% in this case - while I'm all for buying American, its becoming increasingly impossible to do so reliably - There are Toyotas that are "more american" than american cars in percentage of american made componants.