El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts
P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My V6 went out on me so I'm switching the V6 3.8 for a Chevy 350. Now heres the problem I don't know much about the engine. I do know that the motor mounts match, and I believe that the only other major thing is making sure the tranny matchs up, is there anybody who can tell if it will match up. I have the # off the engine if that will help. Also if theres anything else I need to know please your input will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for any information givin

·
Acting Director, Region 13
2,048 Posts
I'm no expert, but I think chevy was very good about making trans fit many applications. Do you know what trans you have? The 200r4 is probably factory, and would bolt right up.

Tim

·
Registered
2,588 Posts
If you have the 3.8 229 V-6 then the tranny is a direct swap,, but if you have the 200 metric tranny it wont stand up to "often" gas pedal to the floor ops check,, but if the tranny does go out a 350 turbo will go right in,, Matty man

·
Registered
281 Posts
Motor swap

Basically anything north of the timing cover to the radiator core support.

·
ZERO MPG
15,368 Posts
My V6 went out on me so I'm switching the V6 3.8 for a Chevy 350. Now heres the problem I don't know much about the engine. I do know that the motor mounts match, and I believe that the only other major thing is making sure the tranny matchs up, is there anybody who can tell if it will match up. I have the # off the engine if that will help. Also if theres anything else I need to know please your input will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for any information givin
IF IT'S A DIRECT SWAP BETTER LOOK HERE AT MY BUILD IT'S A LITTLE MORE THAN THAT. MAYBE FOR A MECHANIC OR GEAR HEAD. I AGREE IT FIT'S.

Hkd up 87 305/350 let the build begin 5/30/12

·
Supporting Member
4,526 Posts