El Camino Central Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What’s up guys so today I was driving my car I was rolling at about 25 miles and hr I threw the car from drive to 2nd hammered down on the gas went to shift from 2nd to drive and my b&m shifter went past drive into neutral , I tried to put it back in drive from neutral and nothing wouldn’t engage now the car rolls in every gear but park . Th350 new torque converter 383 motor new 3.73 rearend . And info would help I’ve never worked on transmission before fluid is full vacuum is hooked up to manifold

·
Premium Member
5,832 Posts
With car turned off and wheels chocked.
Can you have someone else move the shifter while you watch to see if the shifter cable is moving at the trans connection.
If not, the shifter cable may have worked loose at the trans or at the shifter connection.

·
Registered
1970 Chevy El Camino Restomod
472 Posts
Sounds like a linkage / cable problem, not a vaccum line problem. If the cable is okay, then check the vaccum line at the vacuum modulator for trans fluid. If it is wet, then you blew the vacuum modulator dighram which may result in your symptoms (but sounds more like cable) and it needs to be replaced. Should not cost too much. Were you making any adjustments to the cable, governor or modulator prior to this problem?

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Shift cable is still attached and shifting properly no fluid coming out of vacuum module… I believe it’s internally in the trans it’s a stock gm th350 trans with a 3000 huges performance stall torque converter I have a 383 stroker motor and 3.73 posi gears 10 bolt 7.5 the car has been sitting for 10 years before I put new motor and rearend in . I think when I shifted from 2nd threw drive to neutral and back to drive I burnt up the tranny.. weird part is fluid looks normal

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·