El Camino Central Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Can anyone tell me what a typical stroked sbc makes HP/TQ wise?? If it helps it's going to be a .386 running SR Torquers with 1:5 roller rockers. and full length hooker headers and about a 650 carb. The roller cam 480 lift 306 duration. I know I rehash a lot of my questions and I apologize but I'm new to all this and I'm extremely excited about it all so please forgive me.

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

·
Registered
338 Posts
Your gonna need to be a lil more specific what motor and what's it stroked to? There are a lot of different size sbc other than a 350

·
Registered
2,168 Posts
He said it was a 386...which I take to mean a .040 over 350 block with a stroker crank...with the details given, it's hard to say..we really need to know the compression ratio to get close so I will guess you are going for somewhere near 9.0 to one compression based on the smallish cam. If that is close I'd put the engine in the 375-400 Hp range and likely 450 lb ft of torque. Thats a nice street engine that's octane friendly and should be happy on regular. By bumping the compression up a point to a point and a quarter..add some aluminum haeds and another .100 lift to the cam would get you close to the 500 Hp range but would require premium fuel and a larger carb.....Dan

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Your gonna need to be a lil more specific what motor and what's it stroked to? There are a lot of different size sbc other than a 350
I'm sorry. It's actually a .327 + .040. I don't know what the compression will be. I assume the head gasket I choose will have some affect on that right??? Like I said i'm pretty green when it comes to engine building.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #5